Theatre Memes Ranked and Rated

By: Amelia Manley

As a former high school theatre geek, my social media is littered with references and satire that I scroll through on a daily basis.

ToyStory.png

So here are a few of my favorites that I have come across, tailored to Miller’s upcoming season, of course. Without further ado, here are the Impact font laden memes I promised.

10. Now, I recognize that Cats is not everyone’s favorite musical, but what would you expect from a show that is about Cats singing their names at the audience for two hours? However, since this contains an actual cat, it gets higher marks.

Cats

  1. I run into this DAILY. Being a former theatre kid, as in no longer. My heart breaks a little more every time I reference Dear Evan Hansen or even Wicked and no one understands it.

Andrew

  1. This is a rule of thumb for theatre. Just look at some of the classics, basically everyone dies in the second act. Case in point: (spoiler alert!) Spring Awakening.

SeocndAct

  1. I have gotten literal sighs when I put on my music. But every once in a blue moon, I’ll hear a squeal of excitement instead–and those are the moments I live for.

Gleeeeeee

  1. Lion King is classic for my generation. That is all. (Also cat)

LionGuy.jpg

  1. You have never hustled until you have danced to “Something Familiar” in double time.

Sondheim

  1. There are so few consistencies throughout life, however one consistency is that for any moment in life, there is song in a musical.

playlist

  1. Hamilton was not going to be left out of this list. Also, the final essay struggle is real.

Hamilton

  1. The combination of these two musicals is so nonsensical, yet so perfect.

ChicagoBOM.jpg

  1. When you realize these musicals have similar songs in not at all similar sequences.

LesMiz

 

Leave a Reply

